Monday, November 26, 2007

Mighty Mighty - Sharks (1988)

Watch out for hard-to-find, deleted, out of print or critically ignored compact discs released in the last thirty years...

The British band Mighty Mighty developed a larger following in Japan than they did in their native country. However, the group's Japanese fan base evolved posthumously; the band was actually only active for a few years. Mighty Mighty was formed in Birmingham, England, in 1986 and made their debut at the NME/ICA Rock Week concerts and were even included on a C-86 cassette compilation. Mighty Mighty released their first single, "Everybody Knows the Monkey," in 1986. Often compared to Orange Juice, Mighty Mighty only recorded one LP, 1988's Sharks, before splitting up. The band's jangly singles and B-sides were collected on The Girlie Years, the title referring to the name of the group's own label. Vinyl Japan also released Mighty Mighty's BBC sessions in 2001. The band's popularity in Japan resulted from a keen interest in U.K. guitar pop among indie collectors. (from

Mighty Mighty - Sharks (1988)

  1. Gemini Smiles
  2. Maisonette
  3. Biddy Baxter
  4. Little Wonder
  5. Settle Down
  6. Blue And Green
  7. One Way
  8. When You Trusted Me
  9. Michael Says Not
  10. Sulk
  11. I'll Get You Back
  12. Yours Truly
Download Side A
Download Side B

With thanks to the excellent Cactus Mouth Informer for this one.

Peter Geoghegan - Keyboards, Guitar
D. J. Hennessy - Drums
Hugh Harkin - Vocals, Harmonica
Russell Burton - Bass, Backing Vocals
Mick Geoghegan - Guitar

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

I know this is old post, but can you please upload this album. I can't find it anywhere.