Thursday, February 21, 2008

Lincoln - Lincoln (1998)

In the late 1990s, alternative rock had divided itself into two camps: frat-boy music and nerd rock. Lincoln fell perfectly into the latter, but their They Might Be Giants-inspired pop is hardly derivative of any one genre. From straight-ahead alt-pop to country-rock and even synth-pop, Lincoln is truly an eclectic mix, borrowing elements from many genres to create a disc packed with humorous, light, and unique pop songs. Lead vocalist Chris Temple constantly changes personas, from the enraged nerd in "Sucker" to a tender, heartbroken and scared man on "Wish You Were Dead." Temple's lyrics are often very personal, but he attempts to put up a macho front to help him from being vulnerable; however, his delivery gives him away. Not all of the 12 tracks are particularly memorable -- the last two seem to be stretching the album a bit -- but this proves to be an excellent souvenir from an unfortunately short-lived pop band. Lincoln broke up in September 1998, making this their first and last release. (from
  1. Sucker
  2. Blow
  3. Stop
  4. Unhappy
  5. Basketball
  6. Taller
  7. Wish You Were Dead
  8. Straight
  9. What Up
  10. Carversville
  11. To Build A House
  12. Smashing

For fans of Fountains of Wayne crossed with They Might Be Giants and Prefab Sprout.


Anonymous said...

Dude! I've been trying to get my hands on this record for quite some time. Thanks so much for uploading this! I'll Keep my eye on your blog.

fiftypercent said...

Glad you liked it. Too bad they never released anything else.